2015 Naughton Fellowship Awardees Announced

Author: Joanne Fahey

Twenty-one winners of the Naughton Fellowships were announced today by the Graduate School. The research fellowships were awarded to undergraduate, Master’s, and Ph.D. students from Notre Dame and from Ireland. This year’s winners from Notre Dame represent three Notre Dame Colleges and Schools, including Arts and Letters, Engineering, and Science.

Notre Dame's Dublin Global Gateway at the O'Connell House on Merrion Square

Speaking about the awardees, Peter Kilpatrick, Matthew H. McCloskey Dean of the College of Engineering said, “Notre Dame is so very thankful for the remarkable generosity of the Naughton family, who have funded these fellowships for the past six years. Notre Dame is deeply committed to advancing opportunities for international study, exchange, research, and scholarship with Ireland and its institutions of higher learning. I am grateful to the Naughtons and the entire Notre Dame team in Ireland and very pleased that we have continuously deepened our ties to Ireland. With a full cohort of incoming and outgoing Naughton Fellows, I look forward to meeting all of our Naughton Fellows and learning of their experiences and accomplishments.”

The 2015 Naughton Fellowship awardees are as follows:

Ph.D. Awardees

Brad Ellis, Ph.D. at Notre Dame in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, will go to the National University of Ireland, Galway for Biomedical Engineering.

Eoghan Corbett, a Ph.D. student in Geology at Trinity College Dublin, will come to Notre Dame to complete research in Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences.

Master’s Awardees

Calvin Campopiano, an Electrical Engineering student at Notre Dame, will complete a Master’s in Sustainable Energy at University College Cork.

Angelene Dascanio, a Civil Engineering student at Notre Dame, will go to University College Dublin for a Master’s in Structural Engineering.

Kathleen Krah, a Notre Dame Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Energy Studies student, will complete a Master’s in Sustainable Energy at University College Cork.

Michael Martinez, a Computer Science major at Notre Dame, will undertake a Master’s in Computer Science at University College Dublin.

Jennifer Lardner of Trinity College Dublin, Paul Mahony of Trinity College Dublin, Mark Roche of the National University of Ireland, Galway, and Yerlan Turekeshov of University College Dublin will all join the Engineering, Science, and Technology Entrepreneurship Excellence Masters (ESTEEM) Program at Notre Dame.

Undergraduate Awardees

Annabel Aman, a Notre Dame undergraduate in Computer Science and Visual Communications, and James Pennoyer, a Notre Dame undergraduate in Biological Sciences and History, will both undertake research at University College Cork.

Robert Black, a Notre Dame Chemistry major, and Eoghan Flanagan, a Notre Dame Physics major, will complete their undergraduate research experience at Dublin City University.

Tyler Sammons, a Computer Science major at Notre Dame, and Margaret Gegick, a Notre Dame Preprofessional Studies major and Bioengineering minor, will undertake research at Trinity College Dublin.

Dublin City University’s Cleo Harvey and Tessa Ronan, Trinity College Dublin’s Abigail Walsh and Ainé Cahill, and University College Cork’s Darragh Lombard will all travel to Notre Dame for an undergraduate research experience.

The Naughton Fellowship program allows students with a background in, or aptitude for, STEM fields to experience international research and educational opportunities through a funded exchange program involving the University of Notre Dame and some of Ireland’s leading research universities. Irish undergraduates, Master’s students, and Ph.D. candidates can come to Notre Dame on the fellowship, while Notre Dame undergraduates, Master’s students, and Ph.D. candidates can travel to Ireland to study and complete research.

For more information, including how to apply, please see naughton.nd.edu.

Originally published by Joanne Fahey at research.nd.edu on May 08, 2015.